Presidency University institutes annual debate

Presidency University institutes annual debate

TNN | Sep 1, 2014, 12.30 AM IST

KOLKATA: Presidency University has instituted an annual debate in the memory of the late Sudhangshu Dasgupta, a former bureaucrat that the erstwhile Presidency College had produced.

Institutions that will take part in the debate are St Xavier’s College, Jadavpur University, IIT Kharagpur, IIM Calcutta, Calcutta Medical College and IIEST.

Each institution is keeping the name of its debater alumni under wraps just as the topic that they will be debating on. However, names of IIM Calcutta economist Anup Sinha and professor of English at JU, Swapan Chakraborty are doing the rounds.

“We will follow a knock-out pattern in the debate. There will be six teams who will be given a surprise topic to speak for or against. The best speaker and the best institution will be adjudged in the end,” said Bivas Chowdhury, secretary of the alumni association.

There will be three judges for the debate and care has been taken to keep it as neutral as possible. The judges are barrister Jayanta Mitra, cardiac surgeon Kunal Sarkar and neurosurgeon Sandeep Chatterjee. “Interestingly, there are Presidency alumni who are now working as faculty at IIT Kharagpur, IIM Calcutta, IIEST and JU. We will have to be careful while finalizing the participants lest there be an overlap,” Chowdhury said.

No Comments

Post A Comment